BATH COMMUNITY SCHOOLS Board of Education – Organizational Meeting

Dr. Therese M. Peterson Lecture Hall Bath High School

Monday, January 10, 2022 6:30 p.m.

MINUTES

I. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Superintendent Paul Hartsig at 6:30 p.m.

II. ROLL CALL

Members present: Mr. Sam Bachelor, Ms. Ann Chaffee, Mr. Ken Krapohl, Ms. Jennifer Smith

and Dean Sweet, Jr.

Members absent: Ms. Stephanie Halfmann, Nancy Hawkins

Declare quorum

Staff present: Mr. Paul Hartsig, Superintendent; Mr. Matt Dodson, High School Principal;

Ms. Jeannine Brown, Elementary Principal; Mr. Jerod Koen, Assistant Elementary Principal; Ms. Caroline Cook, Business Manager; Ms. Robin Cook, Technology Director; Mr. Jon Pechette, Facilities Director; and Ms.

Shannon Proctor, Executive Assistant

III. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

"Motion to approve agenda of the Organizational Board of Education meeting being held on today's date, Monday, January 10, 2022, as presented."

Moved by Sweet, Seconded by Krapohl. Motion Passed.

IV. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

a. Nominate officers

"Motion that a slate of officers for the 2022 Bath Community Schools Board of Education include:

Ann Chaffee be nominated for the office of Board President,

Ken Krapohl be nominated for the office of Board Vice President, Stephanie Halfmann be nominated for the office of Board Secretary; and Dean Sweet be nominated for the office of Board Treasurer,

And that the nominations be closed."

Moved by Chaffee, Seconded by Sweet. AYE: Bachelor, Krapohl, Smith, Sweet, Chaffee ABSENT: Halfmann, Hawkins. NAY: None. Vote 5-0. Motion passed.

Therefore:

Ann Chaffee is elected as Board President, Ken Krapohl is elected as Board Vice President, Stephanie Halfmann is elected as Board Secretary, Dean Sweet is elected as Board Treasurer, for 2022.

V. SETTING OF BOARD MEMBER SALARIES

"Motion to set the Bath Community Schools Board of Education member salaries at \$575.00 annually for each member for 2022"

Moved by Sweet, Seconded by Krapohl. AYE: Krapohl, Smith, Sweet, Bachelor, Chaffee ABSENT: Halfmann, Hawkins. NAY: None. Vote 5-0. <u>Motion passed</u>.

VI. DISCUSSION ITEMS

a. Board Committee Assignments & Meeting Dates

Finance Committee [Meeting 4th Monday at 6:00 p.m.]

Dean Sweet Jr, Chair Stephanie Halfmann Jennifer Smith

Personnel Committee [Meeting 2nd Monday at 6:30 p.m.]

Ann Chaffee, Chair Nancy Hawkins Ken Krapohl

Policy Committee [Meeting 2nd Monday at 7:30 p.m.]

Ken Krapohl, Chair Sam Bachelor Ann Chaffee

Building & Grounds Committee [Meeting 2nd Monday at 5:30 p.m.]

Sam Bachelor, Chair Ann Chaffee Dean Sweet Jr.

Extra-Curricular [*Meeting as needed, at time TBD*]

Nancy Hawkins, Chair Stephanie Halfmann Jennifer Smith

VII. REPORTS

a. Superintendent

Mr. Hartsig shared that Clinton County's numbers for COVID was still higher than the states average. He gave a brief overview of the mask policy, that may be needed to keep us compliant. The safety plan was shared with both the police and fire departments, but not available to the public. Mr. Hartsig had Mr. Dodson share about the Sandy Guernsey Scholarship Fund.

VIII. PUBLIC COMMENT

Individuals are permitted to make statements to the Board during this section of the agenda. Board Policy #1370 includes guidelines adopted by the Board for this purpose.

None

IX. SPECIAL PRESENTATION

a. School Board Recognition

Superintendent Hartsig shared that the month of January marks the annual observance of School Board Recognition Month. He stated that this is a time to show our appreciation and begin to better understand how local trustees work together to prepare today's students to be tomorrow's leaders. Mr. Hartsig expressed his appreciation to work for such a great group of people who care about our schools and community.

Thank you Sam Bachelor, Ann Chaffee, Stephanie Halfmann, Nancy Hawkins, Ken Krapohl, Jennifer Smith, and Dean Sweet for your service to Bath Community Schools!

b. Girl Scout Silver Award

Ms. Kristin Armistead raised money through donations and a pop can drive to purchase two drum major platforms. Ms. Emily Krapohl raised money to supply two personal care closets to the district. Ms. Kylie Grennell & Ms. Madisyn Reed raised money through pop can drives to paint restrooms in the middle school. The girls spent 70 hours painting and stenciling the Bath Bee in the restrooms that are used for sporting events.

X. CONSENT AGENDA

The following items may be approved with one motion unless a Board member requests that an item or items be removed for separate action.

- a. Minutes of Regular Meeting of December 13, 2021
- b. General Fund bills payable in the amount of \$173,123.78
- c. General Fund EFT transfers in the amount of \$338,771.10
- d. Building & Site Fund bills payable in the amount of \$34,958.50

Moved by Sweet, Seconded by Krapohl. AYE: Krapohl, Smith, Sweet, Bachelor, Chaffee ABSENT: Halfmann, Hawkins. NAY: None. Vote 5-0. Motion passed.

XI. ACTION ITEMS

- a. Business
 - i. "Motion to approve the 8450.06 COVID- 19 Vaccination, Testing and Face-Covering Policy, as presented."

Moved by Sweet, Seconded by Krapohl. AYE: Smith, Sweet, Bachelor, Krapohl, Chaffee ABSENT: Halfmann, Hawkins. NAY: None. Vote 5-0. Motion passed.

XII. COMMENTS FROM THE AUDIENCE

None

XIII. COMMENTS FROM THE BOARD

Mr. Bachelor thanked the Girl Scouts for the service to the district and the life skills students for the brownies and cards they made for Board appreciation month.

Monday, January 10, 2022 Board of Education Organizational Meeting Minutes

Mr. Krapohl gave an update on what is going on at CCRESA They are working on funding for Pre-K early-on intervention, dealing with COVID issues and funding for community mental health. He shared that there are two new psychologists for the county.

Ms. Chaffee thanked the Girl Scouts.

Ms. Smith thanked the sophomore Girl Scouts for their donations to the district. She also shared how quickly the softball fence went up. She shared what a true testimony of the impact we make on each other and thinks the scholarship is a great opportunity for students.

XIV. "Motion to adjourn at 7:13 p.m."

Moved by Sweet, Seconded by Smith. AYE: Smith, Sweet, Bachelor, Krapohl, Chaffee ABSENT: Halfmann, Hawkins. NAY: None. Vote 5-0. <u>Motion passed</u>.

Respectfully submitted,	
Sam Bachelor, Acting Secretary	Shannon Proctor, Recording Secretary